Gabe Gurnsey: Physical


Gabe Gurnsey

  • US$26.99
    Delivery from US$11.31

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 03 August 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Double Vinyl LP

If you want to know what Gabe Gurnsey’s debut album //Physical// sounds like, the first thing you should do is forget all about Factory Floor, the group he co-founded 13 years ago. Gone are the cold, lengthy, stripped back deconstructions of no wave electronica and industrial techno, abandoned in favour of something altogether warmer, torrid and… well, succinct.

“It’s a real departure from Factory Floor” he explains. “Yeah, that was the intention. There’s only one track over six minutes long! There’s only one crossover point on the song ‘Night Track’, which is 6’33” - that’s probably as close to Factory Floor as it gets. What I wanted to get into with //Physical// had more to do with exploring songwriting and structure. The album is very escapist in one sense even though I don’t want to escape from Factory Floor but what I do on my own has to be separate and it has to explore new avenues.”

And that new sound - a 21st Century take on muscular electro, Balearic synth pop, EBM, proto-Hacienda militant funk, early Chicago house and minimal, Neptunes-referencing beats - can be experienced in full on //Physical// the album released on Erol Alkan’s Phantasy label this August.

Encoded into the album is a seductive narrative, which recreates a night out. Gabe explains: “The record is a story. The way the 14 tracks are sequenced mirrors a night out from start to finish.

“So even though it’s electronic dance music, it’s a record about clubbing even more than it’s a record to be played in clubs. It’s everything about the clubbing experience reflected in sound. Getting ready to go out, driving into town, arriving at the club, being on the dancefloor, how you get home afterwards early the next morning… even when you step outside to get some air, when you’re outside at 3am having a cigarette… even that is represented here. It’s about the whole experience.”

1 Ultra Clear Sound  
2 You Can  
3 Temazzy  
4 Harder Rhythm  
5 Sweet Heat  
6 New Kind  
7 Heavy Rubber  
8 In States  
9 I Get  
10 Version  
11 Eyes Over  
12 AM Crystal  
13 Night Track  
14 The Last Channel  

More from Gabe Gurnsey

Gabe Gurnsey: Physical
Gabe Gurnsey
CD Album
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days