Antarctigo Vespucci: Love in the Time of E-Mail

Love in the Time of E-Mail

Antarctigo Vespucci

  • US$23.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 26 October 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Vinyl LP
Big Scary Monsters

Antarctigo Vespucci is the brain-child of DIY stalwarts Jeff Rosenstock (Bomb the Music Industry) and Chris Farren (Fake Problems). Their 'dreamy beachy pop-punk' just being the outcome of two soulmates hanging out together.

Love in the Time of E-Mail, their second full length record, is coming out 26th October via Big Scary Monsters.

In 2013, Chris Farren faced an uncomfortable certainty: his band was breaking up. For the last eight years, the one constant in his life had been Fake Problems, the indie punk group he had started as a teenager and successfully steered for almost a decade. In that time the scrappy group of Floridians had put out two albums on LA label SideOneDummy, toured all over the world, and even landed a few songs on TV. But now, that was all over. Not knowing what else to do, Chris went to New York.

The idea was to collaborate, to find writing partners, something the musician had never done before. After a few days in the city he ran into his friend Jeff at a party. At the time, Jeff was fronting the band Bomb the Music Industry!, a Brooklyn based punk collective that Fake Problems had often crossed paths with on tour. The two decided to give writing together a try.

It was only the next day, as Chris was walking up the three flights of stairs to Jeff’s apartment, guitar in hand, that he realized the two of them barely knew each other. Fake Problems and BTMI had toured together once, half a decade earlier. Every few months they’d play a show together, and hang for a few hours. But was that a close friendship? Up at the top of the stairs, listening to Chris come up the narrow stairway, Jeff was having similar thoughts. What if the collaboration was a disaster?

Something clicked that first day. Though neither musician had written collaboratively before, they planned another session a few months later. During that time, they made Antarctigo Vespucci’s first EP, Soulmate Stuff (an album whose name should put to bed any lingering fears). Written and recorded over a few days in a 3x6’ shoebox, 2014’s Soulmate Stuff was a natural combination of the Springsteen-like excess of Bomb the Music Industry! and the bubblegum melodicism Chris had cultivated in Fake Problems. Six months later, Antarctigo Vespucci self-released their second EP, I’m So Tethered. A year after that, their first LP, 2015’s Leavin’ La Vida Loca.

After three (let’s say “eventful”) years, Antarctigo Vespucci have returned from the 3x6’ closet with Love in the Time of E-mail, their first album for Big Scary Monsters. While by this point there is something of an established Antarctigo sound, Love in the Time of E-mail finds the group expanding their sonic palette in exciting ways, reaching out further to unabashedly embrace all their poppiest instincts.

It may have all started on a whim in a cramped apartment, but like the friendship at its core, Antarctigo Vespucci has blossomed into something much more. And like the non-existent explorer they’re named after, Antarctigo Vespucci chart a map of something at once new and familiar: missed connections, texts lingering on “read,” and the words that go unspoken. Maybe it’s just a passing feeling. Or maybe it’s…Love in the Time of E-mail!

1 Voicemail  
2 Kimmy  
3 White Noise  
4 Breathless On DVD  
5 The Price Is Right Theme Song  
6 So Vivid!  
1 Freakin' U Out  
2 All These Nights  
3 Not Yours  
4 Do It Over  
5 Another Good Thing  
6 Lifelike  
7 E-Mail