Vicktor Taiwo: Joy Comes In Spirit

Joy Comes In Spirit

Vicktor Taiwo

  • US$29.99
    Delivery from US$13.65

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 01 June 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Double Vinyl LP
Innovative Leisure

In a world where art is compromised and commodified, shrunk down and boxed in, Vicktor Taiwò wants us to open up. The vibrant young singer-songwriter traffics in subtle hints and soaring melodies, slow creeps and grand climaxes. Taiwò is on a mission to collect something from himself, and it’s a journey worth following.

His debut album, Joy Comes in Spirit, is at once experimental and comforting – collected shards of soul and style reassembled into something entirely new. The record introduces a bold new artist willing to take musical and lyrical risks, and to bare himself to an international audience. The result is an arresting, unforgettable work that shrugs off the expectations we have that musicians fit easily into recognisable molds.

From 'Joy Comes in Spirit’s first note, Vicktor is mining his own psyche for its dark depths and hidden crevices, demanding from himself the sort of emotional reaction his work incites in others. Songs like “Subducta. Psalm 69,” a seven-minute, multi-part epic, echo contemporary hip-hop; “tDS (Surf)” seems designed to be sung around campfires in the distant future; “Supernatural Women” traces 808s & Heartbreak back to its Zappian roots. And “Summon,” one of the record’s highlights, is like if you trapped a troubled spirit in a GameBoy Colour.

1 Breathe In  
2 Showers  
3 Shovel Moonlight  
4 Subducta. Psalm 69  
5 Letters I Wrote  
6 blue Mountain ridge  
7 Rolling in the Rapids  
8 tDS (Surf)  
9 Supernatural Women  
10 Shimmers in the Sun  
11 Summon  
12 Spectrom  
13 All Within  
14 Morning Joy