Okkervil River: In The Rainbow Rain: Opaque Blue & Purple Swirl marbled vinyl

In The Rainbow Rain: Opaque Blue & Purple Swirl marbled vinyl

Okkervil River

  • US$21.99
    Delivery from US$8.14

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 27 April 2018
  • In Stock
Vinyl LP
ATO Records

ATO Records release Okkervil River’s ‘In The Rainbow Rain’, the group’s most immediate - and meaningful - album to date. On it, bandleader Will Sheff makes a startling left turn from the their critically-lauded and inward-looking 2016 album ‘Away’, crafting an exuberant declaration of hope. In place of ‘Away’’s somber strings and acoustic textures, ‘In The Rainbow Rain’ is full of dazzling colour, spattered with starbursts of electric guitar, big blooms of synth and a chorus of backing vocals. It’s a buoyant and playful record but also open and emotionally vulnerable.

‘In The Rainbow Rain’ - produced by Sheff and mixed by Shawn Everett (Perfume Genius, Alabama Shakes, The War on Drugs) - serves as showcase for Sheff’s writing and the musical interplay of his new band mates, Benjamin Lazar Davis (bass), Will Graefe (guitar), Sarah Pedinotti (keys) and Cully Symington (percussion) - the same iteration of Okkervil River that joined Sheff on the ‘Away’ tour. Recalls Sheff of that tour: “It was my favorite touring experience in many years… I felt like a kid again. I realized how phenomenally lucky I am that I’ve been able to play music for this long.”

Opaque blue / purple swirl marbled vinyl LP with digital download.

1 Famous Tracheotomies  
2 The Dream and the Light  
3 Love Somebody  
4 Family Song  
5 Pulled Up The Ribbon  
6 Don't Move Back To LA  
7 Shelter Song  
8 How It Is  
9 External Actor  
10 Human Being Song