Darwin Deez: 10 Songs That Happened When You Left Me With My Stupid Heart: Coloured vinyl

10 Songs That Happened When You Left Me With My Stupid Heart: Coloured vinyl

Darwin Deez

  • US$28.99
    Delivery from US$8.79

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 31 August 2018
  • In Stock
Vinyl LP
Republic Of Music

Darwin Deez is a New Yorker originally from North Carolina. After the success and critical acclaim of the hit single “Radar Detector” and his self-titled debut album, in 2010, he toured extensively in support of second and third records Songs For Imaginative People (2013) and Double Down (2015).

The crux of his fourth album, 10 Songs That Happened When You Left Me With My Stupid Heart, is Darwin’s singular songwriting. Darwin, the autodidact, is fiercely original as an artist, and enormously catchy and accessible. In the contemporary musical landscape, overfull as it is with redolent reverbs and saccharine synthesizers—a style of music he jokingly calls “Spotify-wave”—Darwin still makes sparse guitar songs. But not the kind of mellow, “psychedelic” 70’s-inspired stuff typical of most guitar-based indie groups nowadays. Songs with energy (“why should EDM have the monopoly on danceability?”). Songs with vulnerability. Songs with relatable, audible, intelligible lyrics.

Darwin Deez is one of the few indie musicians who truly ought to be much more famous than he is. Someone with the refreshing ability to be both goofy and grim. Someone with the songwriting chops to express the human condition artfully, in a way that cuts through thick clouds of cultural static. On this record, there is a wider-than-ever range of its expression both instrumentally and vocally.

1 The World’S Best Kisser  
2 Anna-Maria  
3 Queen Of Spades  
4 Getaway  
5 Say It First  
6 Drive Around  
7 Too Shy To Take A Shine  
8 All My Friends  
9 Someone New  
10 Daddy Always  

More from Darwin Deez

Darwin Deez: Darwin Deez, 10 Yearz
Darwin Deez
Darwin Deez, 10 Yearz
CD Album
In Stock