Loma: Loma



  • US$14.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 16 February 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
CD Album
Sub Pop

Loma’s enigmatic debut feels beautifully adrift in time and space. It’s an album that takes you to a place you’ve never been, with a rare confidence in the strength of its own vision.

Though it was recorded off a dirt road in rural Texas, there’s no hint of country here: from the first airy notes of ‘Who Is Speaking?’ to the decaying choir of ‘Black Willow’, Loma create a hypnotic world of their own, where rustling leaves, fuzzed-out basses, panting dogs, prepared pianos and a wilderness of percussion form a backdrop for Emily Cross’s translucent voice. She’s a steady, clear-eyed presence throughout, even among the heart-pounding pulses of ‘Relay Runner’, the skittering drums of ‘Dark Oscillations’ and the galloping release of ‘Joy’; in sparer songs like ‘Shadow Relief’ and the haunting ‘I Don’t Want Children’, she’s a fearless ally, swimming calmly with you against a powerful undertow.

‘Loma’ is inviting but also beautifully self-contained, like a dream that stays with you all day. There’s something here for lovers of Nina Nastasia or Broadcast but also Linda Thompson, or The Silver Apples - even early Pink Floyd. Most of all though, this arresting and mysterious album marks the arrival of a band whose first steps already feel timeless. ‘Loma’ was recorded by the group at Dandy Sounds Studios in Dripping Springs, Texas and mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound.

Loma are Emily Cross and Dan Duszynski (Cross Record) and Jonathan Meiburg (Shearwater).

Vinyl formats include digital download code.

1 Who is Speaking?  
2 Dark Oscillations  
3 Joy  
4 I Don’t Want Children  
5 Relay Runner  
6 White Glass  
7 Sundogs  
8 Jornada  
9 Shadow Relief  
10 Black Widow  

More from Loma

Loma: Loma Limited Edition Clear Vinyl
Loma Limited Edition Clear Vinyl
Vinyl LP
Sorry Sold Out