Blancmange: The Blanc Tapes
More images

The Blanc Tapes


  • US$63.99
    Delivery from US$28.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 24 May 2019
  • Sorry Sold Out
Triple Vinyl LP
London Records

"Listening to Blancmange obsessively. Probably the most under-rated electronic act of all time.' - MOBY   London Records are releasing a limited edition vinyl boxset of Blancmange’s first three albums – Happy Families (1982), Mange Tout (1984) and Believe You Me (1985). Each release includes the original album (remastered), plus B-sides, extended versions, remixes, previously unreleased tracks and demos. Happy Families, released in 1982, feels like a fully-formed electronic pop classic. Highlights include ‘Living On The Ceiling’ (a striking #7 hit in ’82 thanks to its mix of electronics with tabla and sitar), the melancholia of ‘Waves’, ‘Feel Me’s call-and-response electro-funk, the intense ‘I Can’t Explain’ and ‘God’s Kitchen’ which is an early example of Neil Arthur’s gift with images and wordplay. Blancmange’s second album, Mange Tout reached # 8 in the UK charts in 1984 and spawned more hits – notably ‘Blind Vision’ (#10), ‘Don’t Tell Me’ (#8) and their fantastic cover of ABBA’s ‘The Day Before You Came’ (much loved by ABBA who let them use footage from their original video for the Blancmange promo). It signals another change for the band’s music, now increasingly built around deep, propulsive dance grooves. The third and final Blancmange album of the 1980s, Believe You Me was released in 1985 and features bitter-sweet pop songs such as ‘Lose Your Love’, ‘Don’t You Love It All’ and ‘What’s Your Problem.’

LP1 Happy Families:
1 I Can’t Explain  
2 Fell Me  
3 I’ve Seen The Word  
4 Wasted  
5 Living On The Ceiling  
6 Waves  
7 Kind  
8 Sad Day  
9 Cruel  
10 God’s Kitchen  
11 Sad Day (Original Version)  
12 Holland (Demo)  
13 Melodic Piece (Demo)  
14 I Can’t Explain (Demo)  
15 I’ve Seen The Word (Demo)  
16 Black Bell (Demo)  
17 Business Steps  
18 Waves (Original Version – No Strings)  
19 Living On The Ceiling (Extended)  
20 God’s Kitchen (12” Mix)  
21 Feel Me (Extended 12” Version)  
LP2 Mange Tout:
1 Don’t Tell Me  
2 Game Above My Head  
3 Blind Vision  
4 Time Became The Tide  
5 That’s Love, That It Is  
6 Murder  
7 See The Train  
8 All Things Are Nice  
9 My Baby  
10 The Day Before You Came  
11 Vishnu (Short Version)  
12 Game Above My Head (Extended)  
13 On Our Way To  
14 Don’t Tell Me (Extended)  
15 The Day Before You Came (Extended)  
16 That’s Love, That It Is (Extended)  
17 Blind Vision (Long Version)  
LP3 Believe You Me
1 Lose Your Love  
2 What’s Your Problem  
3 Paradise Is  
4 Why Don’t They Leave Things Alone?  
5 22339  
6 Don’t You Love It All  
7 Believe  
8 Lorraine’s My Nurse  
9 Other Animals  
10 No Wonder They Never Made It Back!  
11 John  
12 Lose Your Love (Extended)  
13 M Diver (Alternate Dream) (Demo)  
14 River Of Life (Demo)  
15 Scream Down The House  
16 Side Two  
17 What’s Your Problem? (Extended)  
18 I Can See It (Extended)  

More from Blancmange

Blancmange: Mindset
CD Album
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Blancmange: Commercial Break CD
Commercial Break CD
CD Album
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days