Marika Hackman: Covers: Signed Vinyl

Covers: Signed Vinyl

Marika Hackman

  • US$24.99
    Delivery from US$9.12

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 13 November 2020
  • Sorry Sold Out
Vinyl LP
During the extended stay-at-home order of the last few months, Marika felt that creating a covers record was a way of exploring new sound ideas and expressing herself without having the pressure of the blank page. She recorded and produced Covers between home and her parents’ house, then got the legendary David Wrench (Frank Ocean, The xx, Let’s Eat Grandma) to mix it. David also co-produced her excellent 2019 record Any Human Friend. In contrast to her last two albums (including 2017’s I’m Not Your Man), this collection of songs is more akin in tone and feel to her debut We Slept At Last, with a darker and more introspective sound. On Covers, we hear Marika’s emotive voice set against sparse arrangements of guitars and strings with the occasional synth or scattered drum groove.

Breathing new life into the songs she’s chosen, Marika reimagines work by some of the world's most beloved artists such as Radiohead, Grimes and Elliott Smith. It’s a suitably varied collection, but Marika’s intimate delivery and soft, nuanced and atmospheric touch to production, thread them all together effortlessly.
1 You Never Wash up After Yourself  
2 Phantom Limb  
3 Playground Love  
4 Realiti  
5 Jupiter 4  
6 Pink Light  
7 Between the Bars  
8 Temporary Loan  
9 In Undertow  
10 All Night  

More from Marika Hackman

Marika Hackman: Any Human Friend: Limited Edition Salmon Vinyl
Marika Hackman
Any Human Friend: Limited Edition Salmon Vinyl
Vinyl LP
In Stock
Marika Hackman: Covers
Marika Hackman
CD Album