Anna Meredith: Bumps Per Minute – 18 Studies For Dodgems: Signed Pumpkin Vinyl LP w/ Random Sleeve

Bumps Per Minute – 18 Studies For Dodgems: Signed Pumpkin Vinyl LP w/ Random Sleeve

Anna Meredith

  • US$30.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 17 December 2021
  • Sorry Sold Out
Vinyl LP
Moshi Moshi

The idea for Bumps Per Minute came about when the composer was thinking about what might be a more pandemic friendly replacement for the ice rink at Somerset House where she has her studio. The idea grew from there and now this summer DODGE is taking over the main courtyard at Somerset House, featuring a full smorgasbord of Yinka Ilori designs, DJs, food, drink and of course, dodgem rides.

Today, Meredith announces that she will be releasing a special extended cut of her material via Moshi Moshi out on the 15th July 2021. Bumps Per Minute: 18 Studies for Dodgems will feature full-length individual musical identities of all 18 dodgems – each one a bold and distinct musical track in its own right as well an intro and outro track (voiced by comedian Rob Broderick).

The key to both the dodgems themselves and the release is a user ‘driven’ triggering and shuffling of the material. Meredith encourages the listener to ‘take the driving seat’ and jump from one track to another, mirroring the real dodgem ride, shuffling and curating their own listening experience via the virtual interactive dodgems page or their preferred listening platform.

Bumps Per Minute: 18 Studies for Dodgems explodes out of the starting gate with Meredith’s uncategorisable sound and signature energy, combining fairground wildness with a healthy dose of the nostalgic electronics of old school gaming.

On the composition, Meredith says “I approached writing these 18 tracks like little exercises, making identities that are bold, playful and characterful but without beats, percussion or any acoustic elements and relying on my skills to create melodic and harmonic based energy”. She continues “they’re also less about musical development than my orchestral work or material in my studio albums, these tracks are only themselves and unapologetically so, and that freed me up to unleash some pretty bonkers ideas, knowing it’s about these bold switches - like a sort of musical Whacky Races…"

Side A
2 BPM 100  
3 BPM 144  
4 BPM 108  
5 BPM 178  
6 BPM 62  
7 BPM 124  
8 BPM 112  
9 BPM 130  
Side B
1 BPM 200  
2 BPM 72  
3 BPM 104  
4 BPM 131  
5 BPM 110  
6 BPM 109  
7 BPM 101  
8 BPM 194  
9 BPM 155  
10 BPM 107  

More from Anna Meredith

Anna Meredith: Anno
Anna Meredith
CD Album
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Anna Meredith: FIBS: Signed CD
Anna Meredith
FIBS: Signed CD
CD Album
Sorry Sold Out
Anna Meredith: FIBS: Limited Edition Winter Wind Vinyl
Anna Meredith
FIBS: Limited Edition Winter Wind Vinyl
Vinyl LP
In Stock