Porcelain Raft: Permanent Signal

Permanent Signal

Porcelain Raft

  • US $22.99  

  • Release Date 19 August 2013
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Vinyl LP
Secretly Canadian

Porcelain Raft’s Mauro Remiddi began working on ‘Permanent Signal’ at the end of 2012, two months after returning from tour supporting his first album ‘Strange Weekend’. It became a period of readjustment in which he was beginning to enjoy everyday comforts and reconnecting with friends, yet the thoughts of those unrealized conversations during his recent travels were still fresh in his mind.

Inspired by this surreal moment of transition, where the reality of finally being home was still overshadowed by lingering feelings of detachment, he sold almost all of the instruments used for ‘Strange Weekend’ in order to “start with a new colour palette”.

During ‘Minor Pleasure’, Remiddi finds catharsis amidst the processed drone of organ and piano, echoing the gospel-dosed psychedelia of Spiritualized, There are tracks like ‘Cluster’ and the haunting, Lennon-esque ‘I Lost Connection’, which deal directly with lives either on hold or in transition.

1. Think Of The Ocean
2. Cluster
3. Minor Pleasure
4. Open Letter
5. Night Birds
6. It Ain’t Over
7. I Lost Connection
8. Warehouse
9. The Way Out
10. Five Minutes From Now
11. Echo