Various Artists: Outer Himmilayan Presents

Outer Himmilayan Presents

Various Artists

  • US$21.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 25 May 2018
  • In Stock
Vinyl LP
Sacred Bones

Between 1979 and 1982, Nick Blinko and Martin Cooper’s Outer Himmilayan Records released 7-inches by three short-lived bands – The Magits, Soft Drinks and S-Haters – who would nonetheless cast a massive shadow on the UK’s burgeoning post-punk/anarcho punk scene. Outer Himmilayan Presents collects all of the music found on those original records, along with rare and unreleased tracks by all three bands. It’s a snapshot of a period of frenzied creativity by some of the UK’s most thrilling experimental punks.

Before Blinko went on to found the essential anarcho band Rudimentary Peni, whose storied body of work also appeared on Outer Himmilayan, he and label co-founder Cooper were The Magits. The lone release by the minimal synth-and-vocals duo, Fully Coherent, was the inaugural release on Outer Himmilayan — and, in fact, Blinko and Cooper’s impetus for starting the label. The four tracks on Fully Coherent are short, sharp bursts, comprising a total of four minutes. Here, they’re presented alongside “A Pawn in the Game,” a song that sees Blinko and Cooper get truly weird with the extra space the longer runtime afforded them

The next release on Outer Himmilayan was S-Haters’ Death of a Vampire 7”, which the quartet quickly followed with Stories as Cold as the Irish Sea. The band was recognizably a deathrock act, their gothic punk in the same lineage as Joy Division and PIL’s Metal Box, but it showed the same sonic adventurousness that characterized the rest of Outer Himmilayan’s output. “1980,” an oddity taken from the rare Another Bouquet on the Grave of Free Enterprise cassette comp, shows the most experimental flourish, with dueling male/female vocals and a prominent acoustic guitar.

The final Outer Himmilayan release before it became strictly a Rudimentary Peni label was Soft Drinks’ Popstars in Their Pyjamas7”. Popstars ended up being the synth-punk trio’s only release before their breakup, though they would also record “Dangers of Drink,” for the Bouquet of Barbed Wire comp and included here, as well as the one-off track “Misconception,” previously unreleased but now available exclusively on Outer Himmilayan Presents

This LP comes with 20 -page zine featuring all liner notes and ephemera associated with the original releases, alongside previously unreleased photos

1 Soft Drinks - Pop Stars In Pyjamas  
2 Soft Drinks - Cinzano Wet Dreams  
3 Soft Drinks - Dangers of Drink  
4 Soft Drinks - Misconception  
5 The Magits - Fragmented  
6 The Magits - Disconnected  
7 The Magits - Disjointed  
8 The Magits - Detached  
9 The Magits - A Pawn In The Game  
10 S-Haters - Death Of A Vampire  
11 S-Haters - Research  
12 S-Haters - The Deepest Of Reds  
13 S-Haters - Drift  
14 S-Haters - Industry & Nature  
15 S-Haters – 1980