Antony And The Johnsons: Turning


Antony And The Johnsons

  • US $17.99  

  • Release Date 10 November 2014
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Rough Trade

“I would describe ‘Turning’ as some of the most significant work of my career. Charles Atlas and I spent seven years producing the film and another year and a half showing the film at select festivals. In the last three years especially, the recognition of transgendered people and the resurgence of feminist consciousness has exploded in popular culture around the world. We planted some seeds for this zeitgeist in 2006, when I travelled with thirteen courageous women across Europe and presented the concert ‘Turning’, exploring the intersection between images of contemporary trans-femininity and visions of pioneering future feminist artists such as Kembra Pfahler and Johanna Constantine. We shared this circle of modern femininity with the world, bringing it from the late night stages of NYC to some of the most highly regarded theaters in Europe.” - Antony, 2014

‘Turning’ is a concert film documentary captured during the critically acclaimed tour of Europe by Antony And The Johnsons and Charles Atlas during the Autumn of 2006, exploring the heart and experience of that series of performances. Through its synthesis of Antony’s songs and Atlas’ unfurling video portraiture of the 13 women who performed on stage, ‘Turning’ is an intimate and cinematic journey exploring themes of identity, transcendence and the revelation of a revolutionary feminine essence.

Rough Trade now release a deluxe edition of the ‘Turning’ DVD to coincide with select screenings around the world. This package includes a CD of the complete audio recording of the ‘Turning’ concert, recorded live at The Barbican in London in November 2006. The concert contains songs from the first three Antony And The Johnsons full length albums - ‘Antony And The Johnsons’, ‘I Am A Bird Now’ and ‘The Crying Light’ - as performed by an ensemble of musicians including Maxim Moston, Rob Moose, Julia Kent, Parker Kindred, Jeff Langston and Thomas Bartlett. The CD also features two rare Antony And The Johnsons studio recordings from that period.

1. Everything Is New
2. My Lord, My Love
3. Cripple And The Starfish
4. For Today I Am A Boy
5. Where Is My Power?
6. Spiralling
7. Find The Rhythm Of Your Love
8. I Fell In Love With A Dead Boy
9. Bird Gerhl
10. Kiss My Name
11. Daylight And The Sun
12. One Dove
13. Hope There’s Someone
14. Twilight
15. You Are My Sister
16. Whose Are These
17. Tears Tears Tears