Kacy & Clayton: The Siren's Song

The Siren's Song

Kacy & Clayton

  • US$16.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 18 August 2017
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Vinyl LP
New West Records

Kacy & Clayton first met Jeff Tweedy in the backroom of the Fillmore Auditorium in San Francisco in September 2016. The band had been invited to open for Wilco on night four of their annual five-night run. While waiting for their soundcheck, Jeff appeared through a curtain backstage and introduced himself. In the conversations that followed, Kacy Anderson, Clayton Linthicum and Jeff Tweedy discussed their mutual appreciation of Davy Graham and Jeff’s understanding of Saskatchewan’s geography. Those conversations would eventually blossom into an invite to stop by Wilco’s studio, the Loft, a visit they made only weeks later.

In January 2017, Kacy & Clayton returned to the Loft with a rhythm section and a batch of new songs. Over the course of eight days, the band recorded nine songs with Jeff Tweedy producing and Loft house engineer Tom Schick at the helm. These songs are what would become the band’s fourth album, ‘The Siren’s Song’.

While writing and recording ‘The Siren’s Song’, Kacy & Clayton found inspiration in the music of Sammi Smith, The Everly Brothers, Link Wray’s chicken shack LPs, country records with harpsichords, The Sir Douglas Quintet, Gene Clark and Jeannie C. Riley, as well as British traditional singers like Peter Bellamy and the Watersons. ‘The Siren’s Song’ is a product of these influences and an extraordinary progression in the band’s own sound.

Vinyl format includes digital download code.

1 The Light Of Day  
2 Just Like A Summer Cloud  
3 Cannery Yard  
4 A Lifeboat  
5 White Butte Country  
6 A Certain Kind Of Memory  
7 This World Has Seven Wonders  
8 The Siren’s Song  
9 Go And Leave Me