Sleep: The Sciences

The Sciences


  • US $32.99  

  • Release Date 22 June 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Third Man Records

Stoner metal legends Sleep are back with a new album. The Sciences marks their first LP since Dopesmoker, their seminal release which first saw the light in 1999 and has since been released in a number of different incarnations. (It was most recently reissued by Southern Lord in 2012.) The new LP features song titles such as “Marijuanaut’s Theme” and “Giza Butler.” The album is being released via Jack White’s Third Man Records.

In 2014, Sleep released “The Clarity,” their first new song since Dopesmoker. In an interview with NPR at the time, the band stated, “Sleep has been sporadically writing riffs for a while now... There is no preconceived idea of what the new material should be. It would be an amalgamated effort of decades of riff immersion.”

1 The Sciences  
2 Marijuanaut's Theme  
3 Sonic Titan  
4 Antarcticans Thawed  
5 Giza Butler  
6 The Botanist