5 Billion in Diamonds: 5 Billion in Diamonds

5 Billion in Diamonds

5 Billion in Diamonds

  • US $21.99  

  • Release Date 04 August 2017
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Vinyl LP
100% Records

The transatlantic musical alliance of Garbage drummer and legendary American Producer Butch Vig (Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Smashing Pumpkins), UK DJ James Grillo and UK producer Andy Jenks, 5 Billion In Diamonds have announced the release of their mammoth self-titled debut album, out 4th August on 100% Records.

Made as a tribute to the music that inspired them (including Jimmie Spheeris, Ramases, Linda Perhacs, John Barry, Krautrock, The Free Design and the BBC Radiophonic Workshop), the album weaves modern techniques and fresh music into an early 70’s sun-drenched soundtrack of rock, folk, and psychedelia.

Recorded in Vig’s Grunge is Dead Studio in LA and Jenks’ Christchurch Studios in Bristol, Vig said “James would bring in these obscure albums and play something for us, we would get jazzed by the music and try and channel that inspiration into a new song idea”.

With a longstanding bond over cult film soundtracks from the 60s and 70s Butch, Andy and James formed the band following a discussion on how the perfect soundtrack album would sound. Recruiting guitarist Alex Lee (Goldfrapp, Strangelove and Suede), the magnificent rhythm section including bass player Sean Cook and drummer Damon Reece (Spiritualized, Massive Attack and Elizabeth Fraser) and the gorgeous vocals of Bristolian chanteuse Helen White (Alpha) Sandra Dedrick (from The Free Design) and David Schelzel (The Ocean Blue) in the process.

To complete the line-up Ebbot Lundberg of renowned Swedish rock group The Soundtrack Of Our Lives came on board after Butch and James talked their way into the band’s dressing room. “We walked up to Ebbot and said "Hey we're in a band, would you like to sing on a couple songs we're working on?" Ebbot said "Yah!" and a few weeks later we flew him down to Bristol”.

With a stellar line up and the songs to back it up 5BiD are set to release one of the most sonically pleasing debuts of the year.

1 Gravity Rules  
2 Better If  
3 Travelling in Time  
4 Broken Wing  
5 I'm Becoming You  
6 Moonbeams  
7 Glider  
8 Lost In The Sea  
9 Paraphernalia  
10 Close The Door