Zara McFarlane: Songs of an Unknown Tongue: Signed CD

Songs of an Unknown Tongue: Signed CD

Zara McFarlane

  • US$14.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 24 July 2020
  • In Stock
CD Album
Brownswood Recordings
Brownswood are delighted to present Zara McFarlane’s, Songs of an Unknown Tongue a masterful work that underlines her continuous growth as an artist. Zara’s fourth studio album pushes the boundaries of jazz adjacent music via an exploration into the folk and spiritual traditions of her ancestral motherland, Jamaica. The album is a rumination on the piecing together of black heritage, where painful and proud histories are uncovered and connected to the present.

Partnering with cult South London based producers Kwake Bass and Wu-lu, Zara has created a futuristic sound palate, electronically recreating the pulsing, hypnotic rhythms Kumina and Nyabinghi – and the music played at African rooted rituals like the emancipation celebration Bruckins Party, and the lively death rites of Dinki Minki and Gerreh. These richly patterned electronic rhythms are balanced throughout by McFarlane’s distinctive, clear vocal tones, and vivid song writing.

Zara’s critically acclaimed third studio album ‘Arise’ met with universal critical praise, and was supported by an impressive live tour performing at festivals such as Love Supreme, Field Day and SXSW. Zara is the winner of multiple awards including a Mobo, 2 Jazz FM Vocalist of the Year Award (2018 & 2015), an Urban Music Award, and Session of the Year at Worldwide Awards. Drawing respect from a wide range of artists, Zara has collaborated with Gregory Porter, Shabaka Hutchings, Moses Boyd and Louie Vega.

These new sonic explorations signal an exciting direction of travel for this innovative founding member of the UK’s vibrant homegrown jazz scene.
1 Everything Is Connected  
2 Black Treasure  
3 My Story  
4 Broken Water  
5 Saltwater  
6 Run Of Your Life  
7 State Of Mind  
8 Native Nomad  
9 Roots Of Freedom  
10 Future Echoes  

More from Zara McFarlane

Zara McFarlane: Songs of an Unknown Tongue: Signed Vinyl
Zara McFarlane
Songs of an Unknown Tongue: Signed Vinyl
Vinyl LP
In Stock

One of the year's most poignant jazz records, a vocal-led proud and painful exploration into the folk and spiritual traditions of Zara's Jamaican ancestry, connecting black heritage to her present.

For fans of: Georgia Anne Muldrow, Sampha, Oscar Jerome

Original release: 24 July 2020

Format: Signed Exclusive Vinyl LP, Signed CD - very limited restock available now