Billy Nomates: Billy Nomates

Billy Nomates

Billy Nomates

  • US$14.99
    Delivery from US$5.41

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 07 August 2020
  • In Stock
CD Album
Billy Nomates, the fierce, funny, outspoken force of nature who hails from Melton Mowbray and now flits between Bournemouth and Bristol, has arrived to rattle cages.

The songs on her debut album all come from a place of defiance. Rebellion against Brexit. Against soul-sapping, dead-end jobs and zero-hours contracts. Against gender inequality, sexual harassment and festivals with obligatory female acts hidden in the small print. Billy’s songs lampoon the same bleak reality satirised by her beloved Scarfolk website and explored so abrasively in the fringe theatre she finds solace in.

Musically, there are snatches of Nick Cave’s rumbling sprechgesang; the “off-the-wall-ness of musicians like Captain Beefheart”; Sleaford Mods’ febrile post-punk; the groovesome lofi art-rock of Sonic Youth; and the brassy Americana of Emmylou Harris. What dominates, though, is a feeling of release. Of letting it all out. The track ‘Supermarket Sweep’ features guest vocals by Jason Williamson of Sleaford Mods.

LP is pressed on yellow vinyl, housed in a heavyweight spined sleeve with gold foil text print. Includes printed insert with handwritten lyrics and digital download card. CD presented as a digipack, standard text print.
1 Modern Hart  
2 Hippy Elite  
3 Happy Misery  
4 No  
5 Supermarket Sweep  
6 FNP  
7 Mudslinger  
8 Call In Sick  
9 Fat White Man  
10 Wild Arena  
11 Escape Artist  

More from Billy Nomates

Billy Nomates: Emergency Telephone: Limited Edition
Billy Nomates
Emergency Telephone: Limited Edition "Ocean Blues" Vinyl
12" Vinyl
In Stock