Metal Church: XI


Metal Church

  • US$20.99
    Delivery from US$11.26

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 25 March 2016
  • In Stock
Double Vinyl LP
Nuclear Blast

Born out of the West Coast metal scene of the 1980s, Metal Church signed a deal with Elektra records and released two critically acclaimed albums. Their self-titled album positioned the band as one of the pioneers of the thrash / metal scene. With the metal scene starting to rise in the US, Metal Church set out on a successful tour with labelmates Metallica. Next came ‘The Dark’ - the fury of its opening track ‘Ton Of Bricks’ was championed as one of the premier metal releases of the 80s. ‘The Dark’ also led to one of a few line up changes with the departure of vocalist David Wayne. However, more success was yet to come. With the addition of former Heretic vocalist Mike Howe and Metallica guitar tech extraordinaire John Marshall the riffing became heavier and the subject matter deeper. They tackled political and social issues of the day with the releases of ‘Blessing In Disguise’ and ‘The Human Factor’. At a time when heavy metal bands moved from the underground and became part of the hair band / pop fad, Metal Church stayed true to their roots.

During the mid 1990s the members of Metal Church headed in their own directions but by 2014 founding guitarist Kurdt Vanderhoof convinced Mike Howe to rejoin the band. “Sometimes I still can’t believe it myself, no one would have ever thought Mike would return after his departure almost two decades ago,” says guitarist and founding member Kurdt Vanderhoof.

“At first I struggled with the decision to come back, but after hearing the riffs that Kurdt was writing, I just couldn’t resist, the music called to me and I wanted to be part of it!” says Mike. “Mike’s voice sounds the same as it did two decades ago when we were writing ‘The Human Factor’ and the band is about as tight as you can possibly get!” says Kurdt.

Recorded in 2015 at Kurdt’s studio in Aberdeen, Washington and co-produced by Chris ‘The Wizard’ Collier, Metal Church’s ‘XI’ not only combines all the same musical elements that made the Mike Howe era albums so great but also adds in a modern approach to the recording process which takes this offering to the next level.

From the first guitar riff of ‘Reset’ through the driving outro of closer ‘Suffer Fools’, it’s clear that Metal Church are back and better than ever. ‘Needle & Suture’ and ‘Soul Eating Machine’ showcase the songwriting that made early Mike Howe albums ‘The Human Factor’, ‘Blessing In Disguise’ and ‘Hanging In The Balance’ such fan favourites. ‘Signal Path’ and ‘Sky Falls In’ clock in at over seven minutes each and put the musicianship that Metal Church were known for on full display.

1. Reset
2. Killing Your Time
3. No Tomorrow
4. Signal Path
5. Sky Falls In
6. Needle & Suture
7. Shadow
8. Blow Your Mind
9. Soul Eating Machine
10. It Waits
11. Suffer Fools
12. Fan The Fire

More from Metal Church

Metal Church: Blessing In Disguise: Silver Vinyl LP
Metal Church
Blessing In Disguise: Silver Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
In Stock