Ricky Warwick: When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)/Hearts On Trees
More images

When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)/Hearts On Trees

Ricky Warwick

  • US$22.99
  • US$16.99
    Delivery from US$11.81

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 26 February 2016
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Double Vinyl LP
Nuclear Blast

Singer/songwriter/guitarist Ricky Warwick was cut from the cloth of a mill workers jacket, embracing no-frills, emotionally direct, pure music exemplified by such American influences as Johnny Cash, Bruce Springsteen and Steve Earle. Born in County Down, Northern Ireland, a teenage Ricky relocated to Scotland and got his first taste of rock n roll when he was asked to join UK punk/folk band New Model Army as an additional guitarist.. After leaving New Model Army, the young guitarist went on to found The Almighty in Glasgow, Scotland who enjoyed ten Top 40 singles and four Top 20 albums in the UK and shared the stage with such iconic bands as Iron Maiden and Metallica over their career.

In 2002, Ricky brazenly embarked on an acoustic solo career and recorded his first release, ‘Tattoos & Alibis’. Recorded in Dublin, Ireland, Ricky collaborated with Peter O' Toole of Hothouse Flowers and Scott Gorham of Thin Lizzy fame, a meeting that would have great ramifications for Ricky’s future.  In 2010, Ricky was approached by the management for Ireland’s favourite sons, Thin Lizzy. Scott Gorham was spearheading a reformation of Thin Lizzy and was asking if Ricky was interested in fronting the new lineup. From the first show, it was clear to everyone that something magical was happening here. These classic tracks had new life breathed into them and Ricky’s voice added the requisite blue collar feel that makes them come to life. After more than 150 Thin Lizzy shows under their belts in late 2012 the guys decided that what was needed was a new album to continue the Thin Lizzy legacy. Veteran producer Kevin Shirley was brought on board to handle production but at the eleventh hour, Scott Gorham voiced reservations about using the Thin Lizzy name. Everyone agreed and to release the material under a new name, Black Star Riders.Their much acclaimed debut ‘All Hell Breaks Loose’ was released in April 2013 followed in 2015 by the quintet’s second album, ‘The Killer Instinct’. Debuting at #13 in the UK national charts, the singles “The Killer Instinct” and “Finest Hour” have both made major impacts in radio in the UK and in parts of Europe.

Ricky has always been a driven performer and whilst Black Star Riders is his main priority he also found time to mine his creative soul and created two new solo records . Ricky explains, “While we were working on the new BSR album, the songs just kept coming and coming”. Ricky writes songs in a number of styles and many of these tracks would not be at home on a Black Star Riders album.  So, he decided to record and release these albums as solo projects.  The results are the beautiful acoustic album ‘Hearts on Trees’ and the more hard-rock centred ‘When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)’.

Both albums were writtten by Ricky and his good friend  Sam Robinson, and depict their experiences of growing up and coming from the Greater East Belfast area.In saying that both albums translate those experiences on to a global scale that hopefully anyone geographically can relate to.The release also boasts an array of acclaimed musicians with guests such as; Joe Elliot (Def Leppard), Damon Johnson (Thin Lizzy/Black Star Riders), Andy Cairns(Therapy?), Billy Morrison (Billy Idol), Nathan Connolly (Snow Patrol), Ginger Wildheart, Jake Burns (Stiff Little Fingers) & Richard Fortus (Guns ‘N’ Roses/Dead Daisies)

When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)

Side A
1. The Road To Damascus Street
2. Celebrating Sinking
3. When Patsy Cline Was Crazy
4. Toffee Town
5. That’s Where The Story Ends
6. Johnny Ringo’s Last Ride

Side B
1. Gold Along The Cariboo
2. Son Of The Wind
3. If You’re Not Going To Leave Me…
4. Yesteryear
Bonus Tracks
5. Love Owes
6.Eight Bells

Hearts On Trees

Side A
1. Presbyterian Homesick Blues
2. Tank McCullough Saturdays
3. Psycho
4. Hearts On Trees
5. Said Samson To Goliath
6. Way Too Cold For Snow

Side B
1. Schwaben Redoubt
2. The Year Of Living Dangerously
3. Disasters
4. 82
Bonus Tracks
5.The Whiskey Song
6.Tank McCullough Saturdays (Alternate) 

More from Ricky Warwick

Ricky Warwick: When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)/Hearts On Trees
Ricky Warwick
When Patsy Cline Was Crazy (And Guy Mitchell Sang The Blues)/Hearts On Trees
Double CD Album
In Stock