Letters From The Colony: Vignette


Letters From The Colony

  • US$16.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 16 February 2018
  • In Stock
CD Album
Nuclear Blast

In the deep woods of central Sweden, on the bank of the Dalecarlian river sits a steel mill around which a town is built. The austere town of Borlänge stands somberly, as if buried between the many hills that characterize the landscape. The winters here are harsh, and the summers evanescent. It's no wonder the region has produced so many successful musical acts over the years. If nothing more, it's an excellent way to pass the time. And this is how the story of these five young Swedes from LETTERS FROM THE COLONY came to be in 2010, deep in the catacombs of a local music venue with affordable rehearsal rooms.

Their first full-length release,produced and mastered by Jens Bogren (DIMMU BORGIR, OPETH, PARADISE LOST),is a highly complex construct of math metal, crushing death elements and virtuosic shoegaze moments.But LETTERS FROM THE COLONY create more than just songs. The progressive death metal architects are building tracks that are able to catapult them right into the league of bands such as MESHUGGAH, OPETH or GOJIRA with their first album. They build upon the intersection between perfection and ordered chaos; the unbridled joy of experimentation and virtuosic instrument mastery. They deliver highly complex songs full of unbound aggression, progressive structures, but also do not shy away from playing saxophone alongside guitars or sampling the roar of a deer into a track – yes, a deer!

This animal became the main focus on the surprisingly colorful artwork presented in a psychedelic vintage style. Obviously, this choice is another proof of the quintet’s dazzling multi-faceted qualities, pushing LETTERS FROM THE COLONY into a new niche compartment of technically challenging extreme metal. Instead of concentrating on dark colors or cliché-ridden motives, the band designed their promotional photos as well as their album artwork in a striking alternative style:

After several line-up changes, LETTERS FROM THE COLONY finally found a solid band constellation, ready to climb the international stages together. Particularly spectacular was the sudden introduction of singer Alexander Backlund, who had been working with the band as a producer for several years, before he was asked to jump in for his predecessor when they were suddenly left without a vocalist right before an important gig. Having never played or even rehearsed with the band before, he performed such a mind-blowing show in Stockholm that the band made the unanimous decision to recruit him as permanent member of LETTERS FROM THE COLONY.

Therefore, the sky is truly the limit for LETTERS FROM THE COLONY, and it's becoming increasingly apparent as they prepare for an exciting year 2018 both on and off the road. The world beckoning from beyond the hills of Borlänge is one that they will get to witness with their own eyes; a seldom-granted luxury in the deep woods of Dalecarlia.

1 Galax  
2 Erasing Contrast  
3 The Final Warning  
4 This Creature Will Haunt Us Forever  
5 Cataclysm  
6 Terminus  
7 Glass Palaces  
8 Sunwise  
9 Vignette  

More from Letters From The Colony

Letters From The Colony: Vignette: Limited Double Gatefold Vinyl
Letters From The Colony
Vignette: Limited Double Gatefold Vinyl
Double Vinyl LP
In Stock