Yuzo Koshiro: The Revenge Of Shinobi Original Soundtrack: Bone Colour Vinyl
More images

The Revenge Of Shinobi Original Soundtrack: Bone Colour Vinyl

Yuzo Koshiro

  • US $30.99  

  • Release Date 05 May 2017
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Vinyl LP
Data Disc

Collaborating once again with legendary composer Yuzo Koshiro, Data Discs is thrilled to present one of the most revered and timeless soundtracks of the 16bit era: The Revenge of Shinobi. Composed in 1989, the music for the Mega Drive game (known as The Super Shinobi in Japan) blended Western dance music with Japanese overtones, to create something truly unlike anything else before. The soundtrack was Koshiro’s first commissioned work for SEGA and served as a forerunner to his seminal Streets of Rage trilogy, where the concepts and styles he founded with Shinobi would be expanded upon to astonishing effect. Koshiro’s work on The Revenge of Shinobi remains a testament to the ingenuity of early game composers who, when given enough creative freedom, found the means of drawing new and unexpected sounds from extremely limited hardware.

The Revenge of Shinobi is presented as a 180g bone coloured LP, cut at 45rpm and packaged in a 425gsm outer sleeve, with heavyweight inner sleeve and double-sided lithographic print, featuring original artwork sourced from the SEGA archives in Japan. The release also includes exclusive liner notes written by Koshiro himself.

Side A
1 Opening  
2 Long Distance  
3 The Shinobi  
4 Terrible Beat  
5 Sunrise Blvd.  
6 Make Me Dance  
7 Like a Wind  
8 Run or Die  
9 Round Clear  
Side B
1 Ninja Step  
2 The Dark City  
3 China Town  
4 Over the Bay  
5 Labyrinth  
6 The Ninja Master  
7 Silence Night  
8 My Lover  
9 Failure  
10 Game Over