Arthur Russell: Calling Out of Context

Calling Out of Context

Arthur Russell

  • US $26.99  

  • Release Date 05 October 2018
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Rough Trade

The late Arthur Russell wrote and played disco non-anthems, solo pieces for cello and voice and tender pop in the late 70s through the 80s. He was a musician of eclectic training with a great ear for dance rhythms and heavy atonality.

Features 12 extraordinary tracks from the visionary genius of the New York underground.

The songs selected for ‘Calling Out Of Context’ were recorded by Russell at his home and various studios between 1973 and 1992.

Some of the songs, including ‘That’s Us/Wild Combination’, were meticulously reworked and rerecorded dozens of times by Russell, up until his death in 1992.

Now finally available again on double vinyl.

1 The Deer In The Forest Part 1  
2 The Platform On The Ocean  
3 You And Me Both  
4 Calling Out Of Context  
5 Arms Around You  
6 That's Us/Wild Combination  
7 Make 1, 2  
8 Hop On Down  
9 Get Around To It  
10 I Like You!  
11 You Can Make Me Feel Bad  
12 Calling All Kids (Walter Gibbons Remix)