DRC Music: Kinshasa One, Two

Kinshasa One, Two

DRC Music

  • US$3.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 07 November 2011
  • Sorry Sold Out
CD Album
Number of Discs
Warp Records

CD Edition - Digipack with 12 page booklet. Includes unique code to access download of the album plus three bonus tracks.

Kinshasa One Two was recorded in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo over 5 days this past July. DRC Music (a collective of producers gathered by Damon Albarn) set out to make an album with contemporary Congolese musicians and worked with more than 50 local performers including Jupiter and the Okwess International, Bokatola System and Nelly Liyemge. DRC Music is comprised of producers: T-E-E-D (Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs), Dan The Automator, Jneiro Jarel, Richard Russell, Actress, Marc Antoine, Alwest, Remi Kabaka, Rodaidh McDonald and Kwes, with album artwork by Aitor Throup and Hardy Blechman.

The Democratic Republic of Congo has long been wracked by conflict and is home to one of the world's worst humanitarian crises. Proceeds from the album will benefit the local performers and Oxfam's work in Congo.

"Every day in DRC there are hundreds of thousands of people who need Oxfam's support to access education, clean water, sanitation and basic hygiene. The situation here has been out of the media spotlight for too long. Not only will DRC Music shine a light on the incredible musical talent coming out of the country, it will raise much needed funds for Oxfam's invaluable work here and focus the world's attention on Congo once again, seeing it as a place of inspiration, creativity and hope." - Oxfam's DRC Country Director, Pauline Ballaman

"We feel incredibly fortunate to be involved in the journey that culminated in Kinshasa One Two. It's completely, brilliantly, unlike anything Warp has undertaken before, but nonetheless feels like a very natural endeavour for us to be a part of. We're supremely grateful to all the artists, musicians and producers who joined together to create this amazing record and shared a vision of contributing in some small way to benefit the people of the DRC." - WARP

1 Hallo (Feat. Tout Puissant Mukalo And Nelly Liyemge)  
2 K-Town (Feat. N'gotshima And Bebson)  
3 African Space Anthem (A.S.A.) (Feat. Ewing Sima Of Tout Puissant Mukalo)  
4 Love (Feat. Love)  
5 Lingala (Feat. Bokatola System And Evala Litongo)  
6 Lourds (Feat. Yende Bongongo Of Okwess International)  
7 Respect Of The Rules (Feat. Loi X Liberal)  
8 We Come From The Forest (Feat. Bokatola System)  
9 Customs (Feat. Bokatola System)  
10 Virginia (Feat. Magakala Virginia Yollande And Yowa Hollande)  
11 Ah Congo (Feat. Jupiter Bokondji And Bokatola System)  
12 Three Piece Sweet Part 1 & 2 (Feat. Bebson)  
13 If You Wish To Stay Awake (Feat. Washiba)  
14 Departure (Feat. Bokatola System)