Lon Moshe & Southern Freedom Arkestra: Love Is Where The Spirit Lies

Love Is Where The Spirit Lies

Lon Moshe & Southern Freedom Arkestra

  • US$32.99
    Delivery from US$11.45

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 15 January 2021
  • In Stock
Double Vinyl LP
Strut Records
First international reissue of sought-after Lon Moshe album from 1977. Includes new sleeve notes, Lon Moshe and band interviews + original album artwork. Remastered from the original reel to reel tapes by The Carvery. Reissue is part of Strut’s ongoing work with the Black Fire catalogue.

Strut present the first ever international reissue of one of the most sought-after albums from the Black Fire catalogue, Lon Moshe & Southern Freedom Arkestra’s life-affirming ‘Love Is Where The Spirit Lies’ from 1977.

“Lon was creating his own path in his music life at this time,” remembers Black Fire’s Plunky Branch. “We had met in San Francisco and he had become an original member of JuJu during the early ‘70s. He then wanted to pursue his own music, primarily in jazz; he was an avant-gardist and loved Tribe, Strata-East and Sun Ra.” For his Love Is Where The Spirit Lies album, Moshe drew from musicians within the Black Fire stable. Oneness Of Juju’s Jackie Eka-Ete sang and helped to write songs and members of Southern Energy Ensemble contributed, including their bandleader Marvin Daniels. “The band name, Southern Freedom Arkestra, was a proud declaration that this music was from the U.S. South,” continues Branch.

“The civil rights movement had been led from there and the most serious racial animosities resided there. Lon had grown up in Southern Illinois, South of Chicago, and said that the racial oppression was as bad there as in the South. He wanted to fight back through his music and through his own actions. He found a way to bring energy and aggressive to the sweet sound of the vibes. He played with a lot of dynamism and speed. The most celebrated piece on this album, ‘Doin’ The Carvin For Thabo’, is a tribute to his mentor, the drummer Michael Carvin (also known by same as ‘Thabo’) who had played for Motown, with Freddie Hubbard and many more.

This first international reissue of the album features new sleeve notes including interviews and commentary by Lon Moshe, Plunky Branch and band members with original illustrated artwork by Mary E. Greer. Audio was remastered from original tapes by The Carvery.

1 A1. Prayer For Saude  
2 A2. Survival Raga #9  
3 B1. Love Is Where The Spirit Lies  
4 C1. Side Three Doin’ The Carvin’ For Thabo  
5 C2. The Hutch  
6 D1. Low Ghost  
7 D2. Ballad For Bobby Hutcherson  

More from Lon Moshe & Southern Freedom Arkestra

Lon Moshe & Southern Freedom Arkestra: Love Is Where The Spirit Lies
Lon Moshe & Southern Freedom Arkestra
Love Is Where The Spirit Lies
CD Album
In Stock