Lia Ices: Ices


Lia Ices

  • US $22.99  

  • Release Date 15 September 2014
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Vinyl LP

‘Ices’ is a celebration of flight, levity and the conviction that you can leave Earth. You take wing in an aeroplane, you go to real places when you dream, you have out-ofbody experiences, you get high, you lose yourself in someone else.

In Lia’s own words: “This recording session became a two year music and spiritual retreat with my psychic twin brother, Eliot. A private journey during which we abandoned old habits and familiar sounds. We got really geeky and experimented in our studio. We obsessed over sympathetic magic, ‘Ancient Aliens’, and the NBA. We allowed everything we loved to find its way in: Persian percussion, hip-hop beats, lo-fi, hi-fi, Pakistani pop, Link Wray, Jason Pierce, gospel, dub. We developed new systems; we worked with synthesis, software, and samples; we became producers. The Hudson Valley was home base, but I wanted to keep flying. I wrote songs in California, recorded vocals in Atlanta, and worked with Clams Casino in Brooklyn. For the first time, Lia Ices felt like an inclusive project with its own identity, not just a name.”

She goes on to say: “We will always want tribe, we will always want rhythm, we will always need music to guide us into our deepest sense of what it means to be human. So we hear sounds from all over the planet in this album. We devour so much music, and with this album we allowed ourselves to claim bits from all of it.”

1. Tell Me
2. Thousand Eyes
3. Higher
4. Love Ices Over
5. Magick
6. Electric Arc
7. Sweet as Ice
8. Creature
9. How We Are
10. Waves

More products from Lia Ices

Lia Ices: Ices
Lia Ices
CD Album
US $16.99
Sorry Sold Out