Marc Bolan: Pictures Of Purple People: Limited Edition Book & CD

Pictures Of Purple People: Limited Edition Book & CD

Marc Bolan

  • US$37.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 14 February 2020
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
Wintergarden Books

A Limited edition 50-page hardback A4 printing of rare manuscripts, poems and story lines as written by a young Marc Bolan from 1965-66, and also includes rare photos from this period. Only 500 printed world wide. Exclusive 200 copies available with the 37 track CD album ‘Marc Bolan’ which features all of Marc’s recordings from his pre-Tyrannosaurus Rex days. At least two sets of manuscripts for Pictures Of Purple People exist, both dated May 1966. The first is an eight-scene story, handwritten on 27 pages of an exercise book and signed Marc Bolan. This exercise book is believed to have been sold through Christies Auctioneers during the early 1980's, after having been split into separate lots. Reprinted here are the second set of manuscripts which were typewritten on fourteen sheets of thin paper, stapled together, and contain two versions of Pictures Of Purple People. The first is a twelve-scene plot, the second, an extended eight scene version of the plot, reprinted here from a carbon copy. Both of these versions were typed by Mike Pruskin, a freelance publicist who managed Marc between 1965 and 1966 when they shared a basement flat at 22 Manchester Street, London.

1 The Wizard (unused stereo mix) 19th November 1965  
2 Beyond the Rising Sun (unused stereo mix) 19th November 1965  
3 The Third-Degree 3rd June 1966  
4 Hippy Gumbo 25th November 1966  
5 Misfit 25th November 1966  
6 Jasper C. Debussy  
7 The Lilac Hand Of Menthol Dan (Dan The Sniff)  
8 Misfit #2 (different drum mix)  
9 Jasper C. Debussy #2 (Echo on voice)  
10 Hippy Gumbo #3 (different vocals /mix)  
11 Desdemona #1 single mix  
12 Midsummer Night's Scene #1 single mix  
13 Sarah Crazy Child  
14 Sally Was An Angel (instrumental)  
15 Perfumed Garden Of Gulliver Smith (instrumental)  
16 Desdemona #2 (alternate lyrics)  
17 Hippy Gumbo (Bolan vocal)  
18 San Francisco Poet  
19 Gloria (The Road I'm On) as Toby Tyler  
20 Blowin’ In The Wind (Take 6) as Toby Tyler Reality  
21 Song For A Soldier  
22 Observations (Basic Track)  
23 Black and White Incident  
24 Jasmine 49  
25 Cat Black  
26 You Got The Power  
27 Eastern Spell  
28 Charlie  
29 I'm Weird  
30 Pictures Of Purple People  
31 Horrible Breath  
32 Mustang Ford  
33 Hot Rod Mama  
34 Observations #2 (2 pianos)  
35 The Perfumed Garden of Gulliver Smith  
36 Hippy Gumbo #2  

More from Marc Bolan

Marc Bolan: Tramp King Of the City : Home Demos Volume 2
Marc Bolan
Tramp King Of the City : Home Demos Volume 2
Vinyl LP
In Stock
Marc Bolan: Slight Thigh Be-Bop (And Old Gumbo Jill): Home Demos Volume 3
Marc Bolan
Slight Thigh Be-Bop (And Old Gumbo Jill): Home Demos Volume 3
Vinyl LP
In Stock