Gil Scott-Heron: I'm New Here: 10th Anniversary Expanded Edition Double CD

I'm New Here: 10th Anniversary Expanded Edition Double CD

Gil Scott-Heron

  • US$16.99
    Delivery from US$6.24

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 07 February 2020
  • In Stock
Double CD Album
XL Recordings
In February 2010, the late, legendary musician, poet and author Gil Scott-Heron released his thirteenth, and last, studio album. First conceptualised in 2005, and ultimately produced by XL Recordings head Richard Russell during New York recording sessions that commenced in January 2008, I’m New Here was Scott-Heron’s first album in thirteen years and found him sounding as vital, boundary-pushing and insightful as ever before. On 7th February 2020 - the tenth anniversary of I'm New Here's release - XL Recordings will release a limited-edition, expanded version of the album.

In addition to the original album, the I'm New Here 10th Anniversary Edition features two unreleased tracks - a cover of Richie Havens’ 'Handsome Johnny’ and a previously unheard Scott-Heron song 'King Henry IV’ - as well as a selection of other recordings from the original I’m New Here sessions that were only previously available on a rare, vinyl only deluxe version of the LP.

A note on the recordings from album producer Richard Russell:

"Ten years ago I was in the midst of recording “I’m New Here” with Gil. There was a lot more to the experience than it was possible to process at the time, and there was some great material that never made it onto the album. Our cover of “Handsome Jonny” was the last recording Gil and I made on the last day of the last session for “I’m New Here”, at Clinton Studio in Hell’s Kitchen, NY, on September 19, 2009.

Gil had introduced me to the original version of the song, explaining how Richie Havens had performed it in his opening set at Woodstock some forty years earlier, and we added it to a list of material we were considering for the album. In the end we recorded some of these songs, like Bobby Blue Bland’s “I’ll Take Care Of You”, Bill Callahan’s “I’m New Here” and Robert Johnson’s “Me and the Devil”, and didn’t get round to some others, including Joy Divison’s “Disorder”."

1 On Coming from a Broken Home (Pt. 1)  
2 Me and the Devil  
3 I'm New Here  
4 Your Soul and Mine  
5 Parents (Interlude)  
6 I'll Take Care of You  
7 Being Blessed (Interlude)  
8 Where Did the Night Go  
9 I Was Guided (Interlude)  
10 New York Is Killing Me  
11 Certain Things (Interlude)  
12 Running  
13 The Crutch  
14 I've Been Me (Interlude)  
15 On Coming from a Broken Home (Pt. 2)  
16 Handsome Johnny  
17 King Henry IV  
18 Piano Player (Intro)  
19 Home Is Where The Hatred Is  
20 Winter In America  
21 Winter In America  
22 Jazz (Interlude)  
23 Is That Jazz  
24 A Place To Go (Interlude)  
25 My Cloud  

More from Gil Scott-Heron

Gil Scott-Heron: We’re New Again – A Re-imagining by Makaya McCraven
Gil Scott-Heron
We’re New Again – A Re-imagining by Makaya McCraven
CD Album
In Stock