The Paragons: The Paragons: Expanded Version

The Paragons: Expanded Version

The Paragons

  • US$10.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 11 May 2015
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
CD Album

Featuring John Holt, Garth Tyrone Evans and Howard Barrett, the Paragons enjoyed phenomenal success throughout the Rock Steady era of the late sixties, when hits such as ‘Wear You To The Ball’, ‘Happy Go Lucky Girl’, ‘On The Beach’, ‘Only A Smile’ and ‘The Tide Is High’ ensured their future standing as one of the most popular singing groups in Jamaican music history.

The departure of Evans and Barrett to the US resulted in the break up of the trio in the early seventies, but Blondie’s internationally popular version of the ‘Tide Is High’ in 1980 brought about their reunion.

Under the auspices of DJ-come-producer, Lister Hewan-Lowe, the re-formed Paragons recorded updated versions of a number of their classic sixties sides, which subsequently saw issue on the eponymously titled album, released by Island Records the following year.

For reasons lost in the mists of time, despite receiving hugely positive reviews and selling strongly, the company decided not to issue the accompanying Dub album, which featured superb mixes of the vocal tracks.

Thankfully that oversight has finally been righted with this crucial collection, comprising the superb vocal album, plus the long lost Dub volume, which finally receives its first official release, some 34 years after being recorded.


The Paragons
1. Happy Go Lucky Girl
2. I'll Be Back
3. Man Next Door
4. Only A Smile
5. My Best Girl
6. The Tide Is High
7. Riding On A High And Windy Day
8. Wear You To The Ball
9. The Same Song
10. On The Beach

The Paragons Dubwise
11. Riding In Rhythm
12. I’ll Be Versioned
13. You Mean The Versioned To Dub
14. My Best Rhythm
15. The Same Version
16. Only A Dub
17. The Version Is High
18. Wear Out The Dub
19. So Much Rhythm
20. Happy Go Lucky Dub
21. On The Version
22. Man Next Dub