Blitzen Trapper: Furr: Deluxe Edition

Furr: Deluxe Edition

Blitzen Trapper

  • US$12.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 14 September 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
CD Album
Sub Pop

Blitzen Trapper are the Portland, Oregon-based experimental country and folk rock band who, in 2008, released ‘Furr’, their breakthrough album and label debut for Sub Pop. The record was met with universal acclaim, earning praise from the likes of The Guardian, Pitchfork, Paste, AV Club and Rolling Stone, who in their four-star review called the album “an engaging album full of rootsy beauty.” The album would earn the no. 13 spot on Rolling Stone’s 50 Best Albums Of 2008 later that year.

For the newly expanded deluxe edition of ‘Furr’, Blitzen Trapper have compiled over two album’s worth of material: the original album and twelve rare and previously unreleased tunes. The added songs are from the same recordings that become ‘Furr’, with the exception of the ‘Live at KCRW’ tracks, which were recorded during the ‘Furr’ tour. The songs ‘War is Placebo’, ‘Booksmart Baby’ and ‘Maybe Baby’ appeared as limited edition singles for Record Store Day in 2009 and 2011. This reissue also features new liner notes from Eric Earley reflecting on the album, as well as a track-by-track description of the bonus songs and a Q&A with the stage and screen actor Rainn Wilson (of ‘The Office’ fame).

“It’s difficult to remember exactly where my head was in those days, recording ‘Furr’ in a leaky, dilapidated, pre-boom Portland building, all but condemned, where the migrant workers congregated at the curb outside hoping to get picked up by desperate contractors, the dealers working the opposite corner, two blocks up the Burnside bridge running with pitched tents and sleeping bags all the way to the West Side Mission, the black river sliding by beneath. For those in the know enough at the time to have heard it when Sub Pop first released ‘Furr’ in 2008, listeners had to have been underwhelmed by the hit and miss production, the furry overdriven vocals and perilous sounding dubs, all industry-standard production fare now. But the songs must have shone through the noise even then. The stand-out title track recorded on a nearly defunct cassette four-track in one take and mixed on a couple-hundreddollar PC was almost an afterthought at the time, but its message was real enough: that life consists of change and growth, love and transformation.

1 Sleepytime in the Western World  
2 Gold for Bread  
3 Furr  
4 God & Suicide  
5 Fire & Fast Bullets  
6 Saturday Nite  
7 Black River Killer  
8 Not Your Lover  
9 Love U  
10 War on Machines  
11 Stolen Shoes & a Rifle  
12 Echo/Always On/Easy Con  
13 Lady on the Water  
14 War Is Placebo **  
15 Simple Tree *  
16 Booksmart Baby **  
17 Heroes of Doubt *  
18 Maybe Baby ^  
19 Ballad of Bird Love *  
20 Hard Heart *  
21 Other People's Money *  
22 On My Way to the Bay *  
23 Rent-a-Cop *  
24 God & Suicide ^^  
25 Furr ^^  
26 * = Previously unreleased  
27 ** = 2009 Record Store Day single  
28 ^ = 2011 Record Store Day single A-side  
29 ^^ = Live at KCRW  

More from Blitzen Trapper

Blitzen Trapper: Furr: Deluxe Edition Clear w/ Gold Swirl Vinyl
Blitzen Trapper
Furr: Deluxe Edition Clear w/ Gold Swirl Vinyl
Double Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days