T.Hardy Morris: Dude, The Obscure

Dude, The Obscure

T.Hardy Morris

  • US$13.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 22 June 2018
  • Buy Now: Dispatched in 7-10 days
CD Album
Normaltown Records

Athens, Georgia’s T. Hardy Morris (Dead Confederate, Diamond Rugs) is set to release his third solo album. Titled ‘Dude, The Obscure’, the album is a work that Morris says “flowed from a creative space I found at the intersection of dreams and reality.” In captivating songs, Morris sheds the traps of ambition and nostalgia and uncovers the strange satisfaction of living in the moment. Even the album title, ‘Dude, The Obscure’, hints at self-discovery. In an homage to English author Thomas Hardy’s novel, ‘Jude, The Obscure’, Morris reveals his love for literature, philosophy and poetry - along with a secret about his stage name. “Thomas Hardy is my given name, and Dude, The Obscure is a moniker I considered using as an artist,” Morris said. “The hat tip to the novel seemed appropriate for the album because it deals with doubts, joys, regrets and spirituality, a lifelong journey and such.”

Each song on the album seems compelled by Morris’ desire to help himself - and others - conquer the void of everyday meaninglessness. It’s an effort philosopher Maurice Blanchot described as the anguish of writing: “You have to cross an abyss, and if you do not jump, you do not comprehend.” Morris takes that leap to find universal truth by navigating sometimes opposing perspectives within moments that change lives. Morris beautifully warns us not to succumb to the fear of missing out that stands in the way of contentment on the album’s defining moment, ‘Cheating Life, Living Death’.

For the sessions, Morris made the familiar pilgrimage to Adam Landry’s home studio in Nashville. The longtime collaborators took their time and gave each song the opportunity to grow unaffected by outside influence except the magic that happens when two friends lock themselves in a smoky shed to make music and a few pals stop by.

Within 11 powerful songs, the Athens rocker reveals scars and shares lessons from an indie-rock odyssey that has taken him around the world and back home to find himself a little older and closer to something like enlightenment.

1 Be  
2 Homemade Bliss  
3 The Night Everything  
4 Changed  
5 Cheating Life, Living  
6 Death  
7 When The Record Skips  
8 Stage Names  
9 No Reason  
10 NY  
11 Lit By Midnight  
12 4 Days Of Rain  
13 Purple House Blues  

More from T.Hardy Morris

T.Hardy Morris: Dude, The Obscure
T.Hardy Morris
Dude, The Obscure
Vinyl LP
In Stock