Vondelpark: Seabed



  • £10.99  

  • Release Date 01 April 2013
  • In Stock
Product code
CD Album

To this point Vondelpark has felt like a slightly intangible and secret entity. Both their Sauna and nyc stuff & nyc bags EPs were passed along enthusiastically in hushed tones by those that heard them. The music sounded special, and at first it was almost impossible to tell where it had come from, or who. The band is made up of three childhood friends: Lewis Rainsbury, Alex Bailey and Matt Law. Over the past couple of years the trio have developed their sound from those tentative first steps of Sauna into something that sounds excitingly bold and intuitive on Seabed.

Seabed is ambitious, but also exists within a comfortable sonic world too. Pillowy textures and lush, romantic sounds run throughout. It makes for an inviting record to listen to, particularly in headphones "it's supposed to be the ultimate bedroom listen" Rainsbury notes. "There's a lot of closure on the record, about feelings to do with being young and in love", he goes on, something clear from bittersweet tunes like "Come On" or the gorgeously yearning "Closer" where gentle vocals and pianos tap into something that sounds quite timeless.

Lewis Rainsbury describes Seabed as a coming of age album, and that's something that could just as easily apply to the impressive transformation that Vondelpark have made during its conception.


1. Quest
2. Blue Again
3. Dracula
4. Come On
5. Always Forever
6. California Analog Dream
7. Closer
8. Seabed
9. Bananas (On My Biceps)
10. Outro 4 Ariel