Various Artists: Nigeria 70 – The Definitive Story of 1970s Funky Lagos

Nigeria 70 – The Definitive Story of 1970s Funky Lagos

Various Artists

  • US $34.99  

  • Release Date 01 April 2016
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Triple Vinyl LP
Strut Records


- Limited new 15th Anniversary repress of classic Afro-funk and Afrobeat collection, 500 copies only.
- Definitive format: 3LP set including 2CD version and 1CD audio documentary as bonus.
- One of the most influential of all recent African music collections which helped spawn a new market for African rare grooves.
- Album fully remastered for this reissue.

Strut repress one of the all-time classic compilations of Afro-funk and Afrobeat for 2016, the first volume of the mighty Nigeria 70 series. Originally released in 2001, the album followed the death of Fela Kuti and a renewed interest in original Afrobeat among younger club-goers. Put together over a three-week trip to Lagos, it documented for the first time the explosive era when domestic bands fused traditional highlife and juju with funk, soul, rock and Disco.

Alongside two cuts by Fela Kuti, Nigeria 70 shone the spotlight on the incredible musicianship of artists like Segun Bucknor, Joni Haastrup and his Monomono band, Orlando Julius, saxophonist Peter King, “Guitar Boy” Victor Uwaifo, Lijadu Sisters and quirky keyboard wizard William Onyeabor among many others. Spread over 3LPs, the original edition also included a one-hour audio documentary featuring exclusive interviews with many original musicians and industry figures from the ‘70s scene, narrated by Wunmi.

As well as being a valuable document of an under-rated era, Nigeria 70 was one of the first crossover albums to dig deep into the African music archives and effectively market the music to a new online audience hungry for rare grooves and unique dancefloor sounds. Since Nigeria 70, this market has widened hugely with labels like Soundway, Analog Africa and Hot Casa all working tirelessly to document rare African beats. This new pressing of the Nigeria 70 3LP set is limited to 500 copies and features the full CD version and CD audio documentary as a bonus within the package. Full artwork is also featured including John Armstrong’s extensive sleeve note history alongside rare photos.


A1 Orlando Julius & His Afro-Sounders – Alo Mi Alo (Pts 1 & 2)
A2 Segun Bucknor & His Revolution – La La La
A3 Lijadu Sisters – Orere Elejigbo
B1 Peter King – Shango
B2 Sahara All Stars Band Jos – Enjoy Yourself
C1 Fela Anikulapo Kuti & Africa 70 – Jeun Ko Ku (Chop ‚N’ Quench)
C2 Tunji Oyelana & The Benders – Ifa
C3 Ofo The Black Company – Allah Wakbarr
D1 The Funkees – Dancing Time
D2 Monomono – Tire Loma Da Nigbehin
D3 Bala Miller & The Great Music Pyrameeds Of Africa - Ikon Allah
E1 Sir Victor Uwaifo & His Melody Maestros – Akayan Ekassa
E2 Shina Williams & His African Percussionists – Agboju Logun
F1 Gasper Lawal – Kita Kita
F2 King Sunny Ade & His African Beats – Ja Fun Mi (Instrumental)