Cloud Boat: Book Of Hours

Book Of Hours

Cloud Boat

  • US $16.99  

  • Release Date 03 June 2013
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
CD Album

Apollo are proud to present the beautiful debut LP 'Book of Hours' from Cloud Boat aka London duo Sam Ricketts & Tom Clarke.

This deep & dreamy debut brilliantly showcases them as part of a generation for whom electronic production & songwriting are far from separate worlds similar to childhood friend James Blake.

Soft-edged but monumentally huge bass tones in 'Youthern' support Sam's Ennio Morricone-esque guitars & Tom's velvety folk lament. 'Dréan' is even more bare, a fingerpicked acoustic ballad with insidious waves of background guitar that well up, sounding both ancient & sci-fi despite having none of the obvious signifiers of “futuristic” electronica. On 'Wanderlust' Tom hits a liturgical tone, a hymnal yearning filling the song as a cloud of Burial-like crackles rise up around it creating pressure despite their delicacy & showing how it's possible for Cloud Boat to maintain intensity with the most unlikely source materials.

It's easy to see how Cloud Boat's sound could work for demanding & hedonistic techno crowds yet this is also an album for headphone reveries.


1. Lions On The Beach
2. Youthern
3. Bastion
4. Drean
5. Amber Road
6. You Find Me
7. Wanderlust
8. Godhead
9. Pink Grin I
10. Pink Grin II
11. Kowloon Bridge

More products from Cloud Boat

Cloud Boat: Model Of You
Cloud Boat
Model Of You
Double Vinyl LP
US $26.99
Buy Now: More stock coming soon